The OEHL cup was first awarded in 1935. (Photo provided by the Ontario Elite Hockey League)

OEHL Inaugural Playoffs set to begin

The Ontario Elite Hockey League is ready for its first ever playoffs.

The first round will drop the puck Friday, February 9, with all four league AA series beginning at 8:30 p.m.

The first place Ripley Wolves take on the eight seed Erin Outlaws, the second seed Creemore Coyotes play the seven seed Saugeen Shores Winterhawks. The third place Minto 81's will host the six seed Seaforth Centennaires and the fourth seed Tavistock Royals play the fifth seed Durham Thundercats.

The winner of the playoffs will win the OHA Sr. AA Championship and the newly-renamed OEHL Cup, first awarded in 1935.

Additionally, The OHA Sr. “A” Playoffs will feature the 9th-11th placed teams, who will be competing for the Hugh McLean Trophy. Those teams are the Georgian Bay Applekings, Milverton 4 Wheel Drives and Lucknow Lancers.

The three teams will play a four-game round-robin semi- final, with the top-two teams advancing to play a best-of-seven championship series for the McLean Trophy.

2024 Playoff scores and updates will be posted on the OEHL Playoff page at

Read More Local Stories